Gatland names uncapped duo in Wales' World Cup training squad

By Patric Ridge 30 April 2019 2
Gatland names uncapped duo in Wales' World Cup training squad

Wales coach Warren Gatland has named uncapped duo Rhys Carre and Owen Lane in his 42-man training squad for the 2019 Rugby World Cup.

Six Nations champions Wales begin their preparation for the tournament in June and after a training camp in Switzerland will take on England home and away on August 11 and 17.

The group will head to Turkey for warm-weather drills before returning to face Ireland on August 31 and September 7.

Gatland will name his 31-man World Cup squad prior to the second Ireland match and Carre and Lane, who have both starred for Cardiff Blues this season, have been handed a chance to impress. 

"It is exciting to name our training squad and to get the ball rolling," Gatland said.

"We've named a 42-man squad, packed with experience, a good number of the Grand Slam-winning squad are in there plus some players who have returned from injury.

"We have created some great competition in the squad and there are a couple of players on the injury list at the moment that we could add into the squad at a later date depending on their recovery.

"We have been really impressed with Rhys and with Owen. They have both been on our succession plan for a while and it will be good to have them in camp with us and to see what they are able to do."

Injured trio Aaron Shingler, Taulupe Faletau and Josh Navidi are included in anticipation of them returning in time for the tournament.

Wales start their World Cup campaign against Georgia on September 23, before facing Australia, Fiji and Uruguay in their other Pool D fixtures.


Wales squad in full:

Backs: Josh Adams, Hallam Amos, Gareth Anscombe, Dan Biggar, Aled Davies, Gareth Davies, Jonathan Davies, Jarrod Evans, Steff Evans, Leigh Halfpenny, Jonah Holmes, Hadleigh Parkes, Rhys Patchell, Owen Lane, George North, Owen Watkin, Liam Williams, Scott Williams, Tomos Williams.

Forwards: Jake Ball, Adam Beard, Leon Brown, Rhys Carre, Bradley Davies, James Davies, Elliot Dee, Ryan Elias, Rob Evans, Taulupe Faletau, Tomas Francis, Cory Hill, Alun Wyn Jones, Wyn Jones, Samson Lee, Dillon Lewis, Ross Moriarty, Josh Navidi, Ken Owens, Aaron Shingler, Nicky Smith, Justin Tipuric, Aaron Wainwright.

About Author

Patric Ridge