ONE Championship dominates Global Martial Arts Awards

By Seng Foo 9 November 2018 78
ONE Championship dominates Global Martial Arts Awards
ONE Championship won big at the 2018 Global Martial Arts Awards held at the JW Marriott Hotel Singapore South Beach on Thursday.
Filipino superstar Eduard Folayang, who would be facing Amir Khan in the main event of ONE: CONQUEST OF CHAMPIONS on November 23 for the vacant ONE Lightweight World Championship, took home the Martial Arts Hero of the Year award.
ONE Middleweight and Light Heavyweight World Champion Aung La N Sang took home the Male Athlete of the Year honour after scoring three exhilarating knockouts in 2018, including a sensational one-punch finish of Ken Hasegawa at ONE: SPIRIT OF A WARRIOR last June.
The fight between Aung and Hasegawa was also dubbed as the Bout of the Year at the ceremony.
ONE: KINGDOM OF HEROES, which took place at the Impact Arena in Bangkok, Thailand on October 6, was named the Event of the Year, featuring boxing for the very first time in ONE Championship history as WBC Super Flyweight World Champion Srisaket Sor Rungvisai successfully defended his title against Iran Diaz.
Reigning ONE Women’s Atomweight World Champion Angela Lee was named the Female Athlete of the Year, and current ONE Strawweight World Champion Joshua Pacio bagged the Submission of the Year award with his modified keylock victory over Pongsiri Mitsatit in July.
Other winners from the promotion included Nong-O Gaiyanghadao with the Muay Thai Athlete of the Year gong, Lee Ji Na bagging the Ring Girl of the Year award, and Stamp Fairtex being named the Breakthrough Athlete of the Year.

2018 Global Martial Arts Awards winners in full

Martial Arts Hero of the Year: Eduard Folayang
Male Athlete of the Year: Aung La N Sang
Female Athlete of the Year: Angela Lee
Muay Thai Athlete of the Year: Nong-O Gaiyanghadao
Kickboxing Athlete of the Year: Tenshin Nasukawa
Bout of the Year: Aung La N Sang vs Ken Hasegawa
Knockout of the Year: Brian Ortega (KO of Frankie Edgar)
Submission of the Year: Joshua Pacio via "The Passion Lock"
Martial Arts Journalist of the Year: Manabu Takashima of MMA Planet
Ring Girl of the Year: Lee Ji Na
Event of the Year: ONE: Kingdom of Heroes
Walkout of the Year: Andy Nguyen
Gym of the Year: Team Lakay
Referee of the Year: Olivier Coste
Coach of the Year: Mark Sangiao
Breakthrough Athlete of the Year: Stamp Fairtex

About Author

Seng Foo