Finch named T20 captain as Australia unveil squad for Pakistan series

By Sacha Pisani 5 October 2018 2
Finch named T20 captain as Australia unveil squad for Pakistan series

Aaron Finch will skipper Australia's Twenty20 team after being handed the captaincy ahead of the country's three-match series with Pakistan.

Already set to make his Test debut against Pakistan in Dubai starting Sunday, Finch will lead the T20 side having previously captained the 20-over outfit prior to the 2016 World T20.

Mitch Marsh and Alex Carey have been named vice-captains by head coach Justin Langer, while uncapped batsman Ben McDermott is poised to make his bow in Abu Dhabi later this month.

Chris Lynn – who has starred with 437 runs in the JLT One-Day Cup for Queensland – is also back in the squad for the first time since injuring his shoulder against New Zealand in February, and all-rounder Glenn Maxwell is involved after being overlooked for the Test matches.

"I'd like to acknowledge Aaron, Mitch and Alex on being announced as the new captain and vice-captains of the Australian T20 squad," Langer said.

"They are outstanding young men and extremely talented cricketers. To be endorsed by their peers, and to then back it up with powerful presentations, just showcased their leadership qualities and vision for Australian cricket.

"Aaron has already captained Australia in the recent T20s we played in Zimbabwe, and I've been extremely impressed with his impact on the Test squad over here in the UAE. We know he's an exceptional player, and he's arguably the most in form T20 player in the world at the moment."

"As we outlined when he was selected as joint Test vice-captain last week, Mitch has experience captaining Australia A and WA, and he's an extremely popular member of the team," Langer added. "He's a very talented and humble young man who leads through his actions and shows genuine care for his team-mates."

The series gets underway in Abu Dhabi on October 24 before back-to-back games in Dubai on October 26 and 28.


Australia squad in full: Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Chris Lynn, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Ben McDermott, Darcy Short, Billy Stanlake, Mitchell Starc, Andrew Tye, Adam Zampa.

About Author

Sacha Pisani