Maitland among four Scotland changes for Wallabies clash

By Peter Thompson 22 November 2017 187
Maitland among four Scotland changes for Wallabies clash

Sean Maitland returns to the Scotland side to face Australia and Simon Berghan will make his first Test start at Murrayfield on Saturday.

Gregor Townsend has made four changes to the team which ran New Zealand close last weekend, with Maitland, Berghan, Ryan Wilson and Grant Gilchrist getting the nod.

Maitland was recalled to the squad after recovering from an ankle injury and the wing replaces Lee Jones, who drops out of the squad.

Prop Berghan gets his chance, while number eight Wilson and lock Gilchrist and also come into the pack.

The fit-again Fraser Brown will be among the replacements along with Cornell du Preez, Ben Toolis and Zander Fagerson, who all started in the back row in a 22-17 loss to the world champions.


Scotland: Stuart Hogg, Tommy Seymour, Huw Jones, Alex Dunbar, Sean Maitland, Finn Russell, Ali Price; Darryl Marfo, Stuart McInally, Simon Berghan, Grant Gilchrist, Jonny Gray, John Barclay, Hamish Watson, Ryan Wilson.

Replacements: Fraser Brown, Jamie Bhatti, Zander Fagerson, Ben Toolis, Cornell du Preez, Henry Pyrgos, Pete Horne, Byron McGuigan.

About Author

Peter Thompson