Selangor held by Kuala Lumpur, Pahang win 10-goal MPFL thriller

By Seng Foo 14 July 2019 1173
Selangor held by Kuala Lumpur, Pahang win 10-goal MPFL thriller
Selangor's winning start to the 2019 Malaysian Premier Futsal League (MPFL) season finally came to an end as they were held to a 3-3 draw by Kuala Lumpur on Saturday.

The league leaders, who won their opening three games of the season, shockingly found themselves 2-0 down against the Citizens at the Panasonic Shah Alam Sports Complex as Mulhim Muqri and Hazreen Ali scored in the third and 11th minute respectively.

Shamsul Akmar and Syed Aizad temporarily restored parity for Selangor before Hazreen struck again to put Kuala Lumpur ahead with 10 minutes remaining.

However, Ridhwan Zainal ensured Selangor would walk away with a point from the Klang Valley derby with a 33rd-minute equaliser.

Despite the draw, the Red Giants remained at the top after second-place Terengganu only managed a 2-2 draw with KL City earlier in the day.

Idham Shafuan and Alif Amin gave the Turtles a two-goal lead before the break, but Amirrul Izzad missed a penalty, which would prove to be damaging.

Addli Che Husin and K. Jaya Prahkashrao found the back of the net in the 32nd and 38th minute respectively to ensure honours even in Shah Alam.

With the top two dropping points, Pahang took full advantage of the results by thrashing Kedah 7-3 in Kuantan.

Saiful Nizam's hat-trick led the Elephants' demolition, which was marred by the sending off of Pahang's Khairul Effendy and Kedah's Zulhafifi Rusli, who were also on the scoresheet with two goals each.

In Ipoh, Perak finally got their maiden MPFL victory by overcoming Melaka 3-2 in a hard-fought match.

After Ridzwan Bakri's fourth-minute opener was cancelled out by Syazwan Ashraf and Saad Sani, the Silver State equalised through Awalluddin Nawi before grabbing a late winner through Firdaus Zulkefli.

About Author

Seng Foo