Roberts, Francona take manager of the year honours

By Joe Rodgers 16 November 2016 57
Roberts, Francona take manager of the year honours

Los Angeles Dodgers manager Dave Roberts and the Cleveland Indians' Terry Francona have been voted manager of the year in their respective leagues, the Baseball Writers' Association of America announced on Tuesday.

Roberts, 44, led the Dodgers to the postseason with 91 wins, marking their first time winning four straight National League (NL) West titles.

He joined Hall of Famer Tommy Lasorda as the only Dodgers managers to win the division in their rookie seasons.

Roberts made the most pitching changes in baseball and kept the Dodgers in contention without Clayton Kershaw for much of the season.

Roberts garnered 16 of 30 first-place votes and 108 total points. Chicago Cubs manager Joe Maddon, the reigning NL winner, finished second in voting with 70 points and eight first-place votes followed by Washington Nationals manager Dusty Baker with 66 points.

Francona, 57, led the Indians to an American League (AL) pennant and was instrumental in a 14-game winning streak in June en route to an AL Central title.

The Indians never lost more than three in a row in 2016, the only team in the majors to manage that.

Francona collected 22 first-place votes, edging Texas Rangers manager Jeff Banister, last year's winner, and Baltimore Orioles manager Buck Showalter.

It is the second BBWAA Manager of the Year award for Francona, who first earned the honour in 2013 for leading the Indians to their first postseason berth in six years. 

Cy Young Award winners will be announced on Wednesday, followed by the MVP on Thursday.

About Author

Joe Rodgers