Cubs' Bryant wins first NL MVP in a landslide

By Brandon Schlager 18 November 2016 72
Cubs' Bryant wins first NL MVP in a landslide

Chicago Cubs star Kris Bryant claimed his first National League (NL) Most Valuable Player Award by near-unanimous vote on Thursday.

He received 29 of 30 first-place votes, edging Washington Nationals second baseman Daniel Murphy and Los Angeles Dodgers rookie shortstop Corey Seager.

Bryant, 24, built off his Rookie of the Year campaign in big way, leading the NL with 121 runs scored while helping the Cubs end their infamous 108-year World Series drought.

He also ranked in the top six in home runs (39) and RBIs (102). 

The second overall draft pick in 2013 arrived in MLB in 2015 amid fanfare unlike any Cubs player since perhaps Sammy Sosa, whose 1998 MVP campaign is the last time the franchise claimed the award.

And he has made quick work of the lofty expectations.

Bryant is the fourth player to be named Rookie of the Year and MVP in back-to-back seasons.

Cal Ripken Jr., Ryan Howard and Dustin Pedroia were the others.

About Author

Brandon Schlager