Lee, Matsumoto/Takahashi Win Best Player Awards

By tape23 14 December 2016 346
Lee, Matsumoto/Takahashi Win Best Player Awards

December 13 2016, Dubai: Badminton’s superstars Malaysia’s Lee Chong Wei and Japan’s Misaki Matsutomo/Ayaka Takahashi’s spectacular performances this season were honoured with Player of the Year awards at the Players’ Reception and Gala Dinner for the Dubai World Superseries Finals at the Armani Hotel last night.

While Lee’s three World Superseries titles and the Olympic silver medal won him the Male Player of the Year, Matsutomo/Takahashi took home the Female Player of the Year award thanks to their Olympic gold medal and four Superseries titles.

Lee was named for the honour ahead of other nominees Jan O Jorgensen (Denmark), Zhang Nan/Fu Haifeng (China), Chen Long (China) and Goh V Shem/Tan Wee Kiong (Malaysia).

Matsutomo/Takahashi were nominated along with Denmark’s Christinna Pedersen/Kamilla Rytter Juhl, Thailand’s Ratchanok Intanon and Japan’s Nozomi Okuhara. The awards were presented by BWF Deputy President Gustavo Salazar. Pusarla received her award from HE Dawood Al Hajri, President of UAE Table Tennis and Badminton Association.

Female Players of the Year Misaki Matsutomo and Ayaka Takahashi with Gustavo Salazar (1600x1052) (1400x921)

“We’re extremely pleased,” said Matsutomo. “This year has been great for us. There were two memorable victories – the All England and the Olympics. We had an amazing year, and finishing the year with this award is unforgettable.”

India’s Pusarla V Sindhu, who has enjoyed a blazing run of form over the last few months, received the Most Improved Player award.

Most Improved Player of the Year Pusarla V Sindhu with Dawood Al Hajri (1600x1177) (1400x1030)

“I didn’t expect to get this award, so I’m excited and happy,” said Pusarla. “It’s good to be here in Dubai. It’s my first time at the Dubai World Superseries Finals. My draw is tough, I’m with Carolina (Marin), He Bingjiao and Sun Yu. I have to play well from the start.”

China’s rising star Chen Qingchen, winner of Superseries titles in both her categories, won the Eddy Choong Award for Most Promising Player of the Year. The other contenders were her Chinese compatriots He Bingjiao, Li Junhui/Liu Yuchen and Malaysia’s Goh Jin Wei.

Most Promising Player of the Year Chen Qingchen with Gustavo Salazar (1600x1067) (1400x934)

“I’m very surprised,” said Chen. “This is an award I’ve always wanted to win. I suppose I won it because I’ve done well in both my categories. Hopefully I can win the title here in Dubai as well.”

In the para-badminton category, Lucas Mazur (France) and Karin Suter-Erath (Switzerland) were named the Para-Badminton Player of the Year in the Male and Female categories respectively. Mazur was named for the honour ahead of Germany’s Thomas Wandschneider, Poland’s Bartlomiej Mroz and Korea’s Lee Sam Seop, while Suter-Erath was chosen from a list that included Germany’s Katrin Seibert, Turkey’s Emine Seckin and Thailand’s Amnouy Wetwithan.

Male Para-badminton Player of the Year Lucas Mazur with Gustavo Salazar (1400x997)

“It’s a very important achievement for me because it’s a celebration of my year,” said Mazur. “It has been a long year of training and travel, in Indonesia, Spain and Netherlands. I’m proud of my country that I got this award. It’s motivation for me to get ready for Tokyo 2020. It’s very important to be ready now for the Olympic Games. A year ago, I followed the player awards and when I didn’t win, I decided to work harder to win this title. I want to win it the next year also!”

Also honoured at the function were the Olympic gold medallists in all five categories, who received a golden shuttle.

2016 Olympic Champions receive their Golden Shuttles. (1400x1086)

With players having turning up at their most stylish, there were awards for the best-dressed players too in the male and female categories. Denmark’s Viktor Axelsen and Malaysia’s Woon Khe Wei won the hearts of the jury.

Action in the BWF Dubai World Superseries Finals starts on Wednesday 14 December at 9am. Matches will be played throughout the day, concluding at 9pm. The order of play and all the details can be found at http://www.dubaisuperseriesfinals.ae

About Author